Faculty

Mountain Area Christian Academy in Morganton, GA is a Christian school that offers Christ–centered and Biblically based educational programs. Please read more about our knowledgeable faculty.

Administrators

Steve Shamblin

AdministratorAthletic Director
Certifications: MS Educational Leadership from Regent UniversityBachelor of Science from Palm Beach AtlanticGeorgia Association of Christian Schools
sshamblin@macalions.org

Nikki Shamblin, PCET

Assistant AdministratorPrincipal
Certifications: MS Education - Curriculum & Instruction, Columbia International UniversityBachelor of English/Psychology, Palm Beach AtlanticProfessional Certified Educational Therapist of the National Institute for Learning DevelopmentGeorgia Association of Christian Schools
nshamblin@macalions.org

Elementary Faculty

Debbie Schmidt

Elementary Principal
dschmidt@macalions.org
Certifications: B.S. Multidisciplinary StudiesLiberty UniversityGACS Certification: Professional
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2017

Amy Harbison

Kindergarten
Child Development Associate
aharbison@macalions.org

Diana Tarpley

1st Grade
Associates Early Childhood Education,North Georgia TechGACS Certification:
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy : 2019
dtarpley@macalions.org

Brooklyn Christopher

2nd Grade
B.A. Early Childhood Ed, Brenau UniversityGACS Certification: Professional
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2019
bchristopher@macalions.org

Kristen Stone

3rd Grade
BS History, Liberty University
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2020
kstone@macalions.org

Brenda Crawford

4th Grade
B.S. Education, Brenau UniversityGACS Certification: Professional
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2014
bcrawford@macalions.org

Ashley Champion

5th Grade
B.S. Early Childhood, Dalton State CollegeGACS Certification: Professional
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2017
achampion@macalions.org

Debbie Schmidt

6th Grade
B.S. Multidisciplinary Studies, Liberty UniversityGACS Certification: Professional
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2017
dschmidt@macalions.org

Hailey Disher

Special Education
GACS Certification:
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2019
hdisher@macalions.org

Middle/High School Faculty

Senior Master Sergeant
Harold Bargeron

C.J.R.O.T.C.
U.S. AirforceU.S. Marines
hbargeron@macalions.org
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2020

Gracie Hooper

High School Math
ghooper@macalions.org
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2020

Jan Jones

Middle and High School History
B.A. Science Ed (History minor), Georgia SouthwesternGACS Certification: Professional
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2007
jjones@macalions.org

Rachel Jones

ACCEL English,High School Spanish I & IIArt/DrawingSenior Class AdvisorFine Arts Coordinator
BA English Lit, Minor in Spanish Language, North Georgia College and State UniversityMA Teaching, Literature Concentration, NGCSUGACS Certification: Professional
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2011
rjones@macalions.org

Alan Lutz

English 8-12, Music Theory, High School Boys Bible
B.A. Spanish Education, Butler UniversityMA Divinity Pastoral Studies, Covenant SeminaryGACS Certification:
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2019
alutz@macalions.org

Robin Richardson


BS Education, Valdodsta StateGACS Certification: Professional
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2015
rrichardson@macalions.org

Stephanie Nickerson


B.S. Psychology/Child Development, Appalachian State UniversityGACS Certification: Provisional
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2016
snickerson@macalions.org

Preschool Faculty

DeGina Scoggins, CDA

Pre-K Director
dscoggins@macalions.org

Jessica Peardon

Pre-K1 Lead Teacher
jpeardon@macalions.org

Whitney Dyer

Pre-K2 Lead Teacher
Associates Early Childhood Education
wdyer@macalions.org

Crystal Tanner

Pre-K3 Lead Teacher
ctanner@macalions.org

Kelly Garrett

Pre-K4 Lead Teacher kgarrett@macalions.org

John Ramsey, CDA

Pre-K-4 Lead TeacherAftercare Coordinator
jramsey@macalions.org

Melony Tipton, CDA

Pre-K4 Lead Teacher
mtipton@macalions.org

Amber Nicholson

Pre-K-1 Assistant

Brittany Holloway

Pre-K-2 Assistant

Jennifer Beavers

Pre-K-4 Assistant

Edie Cook

Housekeeping

Related Arts Faculty

Heather Earley

Elementary Computer, Library, P.E., & Art
hearley@macalions.org

Alicia Woody

Elementary Spanish
awoody@macalions.org

Andrea Woody

Special Needs Aid
andreawoody@macalions.org

Support Staff

Jessica Allen

Cafeteria Assistant

Jeffie Barnes

Director of Finance
jbarnes@macalions.org

Gail Brown

Registrar
gbrown@macalions.org

Joanna Kirkpatrick

Office Assistant
jkirkpatrick@macalions.org

Dana Martin

Cafeteria Manager
dmartin@macalions.org

Kayla Stanford

SecretaryFundraising Coordinator
kstanford@macalions.org

Ryan St. Hillaire

Technology DirectorComputer Applications
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2019
rsthillaire@macalions.org

Job Openings

Mountain Area Christian Academy prides itself on the high quality education it offers its students. To that end, we seek qualified individuals who have the knowledge, skills and abilities to provide a solid education from a Christian perspective.

Mountain Area Christian Academy is an equal opportunity employer. It is the policy of MACA not to discriminate on the basis of age, race, gender, national origin, handicap or religion in its employment. A criminal background check is required for all new employees.

If you are interested in applying, please download either a teacher's packet or a non-teaching packet and mail it to:

AdministratorMountain Area Christian Academy14090 Old Hwy. 76Morganton, GA 30560

Employment Application (Teaching)

Employment Application (Non-Teaching)