Faculty

Faculty

Mountain Area Christian Academy in Morganton, GA is a Christian school that offers Christ–centered and Biblically based educational programs. Please read more about our knowledgeable faculty.

Administrators

Steve Shamblin

AdministratorAthletic Director
Certifications: MS Educational Leadership from Regent UniversityBachelor of Science from Palm Beach AtlanticGeorgia Association of Christian Schools
sshamblin@macalions.org

Nikki Shamblin, PCET

Assistant AdministratorPrincipal
Certifications: MS Education - Curriculum & Instruction, Columbia International UniversityBachelor of English/Psychology, Palm Beach AtlanticProfessional Certified Educational Therapist of the National Institute for Learning DevelopmentGeorgia Association of Christian Schools
nshamblin@macalions.org

Elementary Faculty

Debbie Schmidt

Elementary Principal
Certifications: B.S. Multidisciplinary StudiesLiberty UniversityGACS Certification: Professional
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2017
dschmidt@macalions.org

Amy Harbison

Kindergarten
Child Development Associate
aharbison@macalions.org

Rebecca Payne

1st Grade Teacher

rpayne@macalions.org

Elizabeth Roesch

2nd Grade Teacher

eroesch@macalions.org

Kelly Collins

3rd Grade

kcollins@macalions.org

Ashley Champion

4th Grade
B.S. Early Childhood, Dalton State CollegeGACS Certification: Professional
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2017
achampion@macalions.org

Julie Corzine

5th Grade

jcorzine@macalions.org


Debbie Schmidt

6th Grade
B.S. Multidisciplinary Studies, Liberty UniversityGACS Certification: Professional
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2017
dschmidt@macalions.org

Hailey Watkins

Special Education
GACS Certification:
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2019
hdisher@macalions.org

Middle/High School Faculty

Rachel Jones

Highschool Principal
ACCEL English,High School Spanish I & IIArt/DrawingSenior Class AdvisorFine Arts Coordinator
BA English Lit, Minor in Spanish Language, North Georgia College and State UniversityMA Teaching, Literature Concentration, NGCSUGACS Certification: Professional
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2011
rjones@macalions.org


Bethany Clayton

High School Math
bclayton@macalions.org
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2021

Senior Master Sergeant
Harold Bargeron

C.J.R.O.T.C.
U.S. AirforceU.S. Marines
hbargeron@macalions.org
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2020

Rachel Jones

ACCEL English,High School Spanish I & IIArt/DrawingSenior Class AdvisorFine Arts Coordinator
BA English Lit, Minor in Spanish Language, North Georgia College and State UniversityMA Teaching, Literature Concentration, NGCSUGACS Certification: Professional
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2011
rjones@macalions.org

Alan Lutz

English 8-12, Music Theory, High School Boys Bible
B.A. Spanish Education, Butler UniversityMA Divinity Pastoral Studies, Covenant SeminaryGACS Certification:
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2019
alutz@macalions.org

Thomas Shamblin


History & Health Teacher
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2021
tshamblin@macalions.org

Joshua Ledford


Chemistry/Science
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2021
jledford@macalions.org

Ryan St. Hillaire

Finance/ComputerTechnology DirectorComputer Applications
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2019
rsthillaire@macalions.org

Preschool Faculty

DeGina Scoggins, CDA

Pre-K Director
dscoggins@macalions.org

Jessica Allen

Pre-K1 Lead Teacher
jallen@macalions.org

Brittany Holloway

Pre-K-2 Lead Teacher
bholloway@macalions.org

Madalyn Holbrooks

PreK1 Assistant
mholbrooks@macalions.org

Whitney Dyer

Pre-K2 Lead Teacher
Associates Early Childhood Education
wdyer@macalions.org

Kelly Garrett

Pre-K2 Lead Teacher kgarrett@macalions.org

Kelsey Ledford

Pre-K2 Assistant
kledford@macalions.org

Crystal Tanner

Pre-K3 Lead Teacher
ctanner@macalions.org

Britni Abercrombie

Pre-K4 Assistant
babercrombie@macalions.org


Edie Cook

Housekeeping

Related Arts Faculty

Jennifer Beavers

Special Helps Teacher

Sandra Applegate

Special Helps Teacher
sapplegate@macalions.org

Alicia Woody

Elementary Spanish
awoody@macalions.org

Andrea Woody

Special Needs Aid
andreawoody@macalions.org

Support Staff

Jessica Chapman

Finance Director
JChapman@macalions.org

Gail Brown

Registrar
gbrown@macalions.org

Tammye Beck

Office Assistant
tbeck@macalions.org

Dana Martin

Cafeteria Manager
dmartin@macalions.org

James Cook

Custodial

Penny Spiva

Cafeteria


Job Openings

Mountain Area Christian Academy prides itself on the high quality education it offers its students. To that end, we seek qualified individuals who have the knowledge, skills and abilities to provide a solid education from a Christian perspective.

Mountain Area Christian Academy is an equal opportunity employer. It is the policy of MACA not to discriminate on the basis of age, race, gender, national origin, handicap or religion in its employment. A criminal background check is required for all new employees.

Available Positions:

  • Pre-school teacher

  • Elementary teacher

  • Middle & High-school math teacher

  • Middle & High-school science teacher

If you are interested in applying, please download either a teacher's packet or a non-teaching packet and mail it to:

AdministratorMountain Area Christian Academy14090 Old Hwy. 76Morganton, GA 30560

Employment Application (Teaching)

Employment Application (Non-Teaching)